A Q&A With One Of The Voices Of Custom Sneakers: Candlecandoit

SNEAKGOD
3 min readDec 19, 2020

--

custom sneaker artist, Candlecandoit

It was 2015, and my first pair of custom sneakers I painted were some old white Vans I had in my closet.

I was going to school full time and didn’t have any money to buy a new pair so I painted some old Vans Authentic shoes.

I didn’t know anything about painting sneakers — despite watching YouTube videos during the whole process, they came out way better than expected. That was a galaxy themed custom.

I received so many compliments, then the commissions started to come in soon after.

Read on to learn more about Candlecandoit’s story and tips for making custom sneakers!

custom sneakers, “Mario” High Top Vans by Candlecandoit

How would you describe what makes CandleCanDoIt Customs’ sneakers special to a desired customer/fan?

I believe my fan base comes from my popular “Topo Chico” themed Vans.

Numerous people have told me they think of when they see the drink at a store. Haha.

They are my best sellers with almost 100 pairs sold and I hand paint every single pair.

And I was the first to do it and still the only one to have “Topo Chico” themed shoes.

What is one of the most worthwhile investments you’ve ever made in your custom sneaker business?

The biggest investment was my iPad Pro.

I run my whole business from this iPad.

From emails, to drawing out new designs, shipping labels to managing my social media, everything I do comes from it.

With all the work I’ve completed with it, the iPad has paid itself off.

custom sneaker, “Topo Chico” High Top Vans by Candlecandoit

What advice would you give to a first time custom sneaker artist? What advice should they ignore?

Never take shortcuts.

I always make sure I check every single little detail on the shoe before it goes out to the customer.

Mix paint right, make sure there’s great paint coverage.

Always give 100%.

One thing I always tell myself is, I want the customer or whoever, to think that the shoe I customized looks as good or even better than a shoe coming from a retail store.

Customer: “What store you get those shoes at?”

Me: “I painted them!”

It just feels good to say that. Haha.

Don’t look at what other artists are doing to find inspiration. Be you.

Your following will come from what separates you from other artists.

People don’t want to see the same things over and over again.

Be unique, be different, and the rest will fall into place.

custom sneaker artist, Candlecandoit, “Mario” sticker design

How can I learn more about CandleCanDoIt customs?

As much as I wish there was a way to have all my posts and announcements in one place, you can just check out my IG, Twitter, FB or my website for all my latest custom sneakers, artwork and designs.

I’m more active on my Instagram stories, almost everyday, with current projects, behind the scene pics, videos, and collabs.

What are big announcements that you want anyone interested in CandleCanDoIt custom sneakers to know?

In 2021, I want to hopefully expand my work into YouTube videos and more content on my Tiktok.

Maybe with some behind-the-scenes of the ‘how to’ process or cool transformation videos for of my shoes and artwork.

More unique stickers are coming to the shop and more one of kind merch!

Follow SNEAKGOD on Medium and Instagram for more stories, learnings, tips, and custom sneaker battles.

--

--

SNEAKGOD

stories, tricks, and tips from custom sneaker artists for fans— follow @sneakgodnyc on Instagram for custom sneaker battles every Tuesday