A Q&A With One Of The Voices Of Custom Sneakers: gatovalue

SNEAKGOD
3 min readDec 24, 2020

--

custom sneaker artist, gatovalue, in Miami, Florida

Why don’t you walk me through how you got into making custom sneakers.

I started my brand in 2010 offering more than just customizing sneakers.

I wanted to have a diverse skill set where I can offer my clients paintings, graphic arts, murals, apparel, accessories, custom painted products and anything else I could use to brand myself.

In 2020, I have never looked back.

Now, I have more of an audience supporting my brand, connecting with people on a personal level through my art.

I truly believe it’s only a matter of time for my brand to explode.

Walk me through your design process and how you find inspiration.

For any design job I start on, I have to create a mood board of references or color themes. This will create a path I can use to mock up concepts.

The process is necessary for me to create original artwork.

I find inspiration through my wife, family and close friends — surrounding myself with positive people, so we can uplift one another.

custom sneakers made by gatovalue

Which custom sneaker artists do you follow?

Dillon DeJesus custom footwear is my g. I’ve been following him on Instagram since 2016.

I love how he gives back to the custom sneaker culture with his YouTube channel. He’s sort of like an ambassador in this industry.

How would you describe what makes gatovalue customs special to a desired customer?

I feel like the gatovalue fan can relate to the art.

It’s like a hidden gem.

You’re relatively unknown until you are wearing a fresh pair of custom gatovalues.

People will notice, the compliments will make you feel like an underground king. I’ve had a few customers tell me this — “I want to start collecting your work because one day I won’t be able to afford your work anymore”.

I really do appreciate my customers. They keep me going.

custom sneakers made by gatovalue

What are trends in the custom shoe and custom sneaker space that you’re most excited about?

I like what Virgil Abloh is doing with his Off-White Jordan collaboration.

It inspired me to detach the Nike “swoosh”, which added more depth for me when customizing sneakers.

custom sneakers made by gatovalue

What has been one or the most worthwhile lessons you’ve learned running a custom shoe business?

Don’t start on the job won’t a deposit.

It’s not worth your time.

What advice would you give to a first time customizer? What advice should they ignore?

Start designing for you friends and practice on your own sneakers.

Rock your own customs, build your confidence.

When people notice, then you can start charging fairly.

Before you know it, you’ll gain momentum to build your business.

Surround yourself with positive people, they will give you the best advice.

How can I learn more about gatovalue customs?

Get to know my brand, get to know me at gatovalue.com.

What are big announcements that you want anyone interested in gatovalue customs to know?

I have some heat coming soon!

Checkout my latest work and best practices on my Instagram

Follow SNEAKGOD on Medium and Instagram for more stories, learnings, tips, and custom sneaker battles.

--

--

SNEAKGOD

stories, tricks, and tips from custom sneaker artists for fans— follow @sneakgodnyc on Instagram for custom sneaker battles every Tuesday